My Little Chef…Kinda.

Tonight I let my eldest daughter pick what she wanted for dinner. The past few days I’ve been letting the girls explore their independence more in the kitchen. Yes, I’m one of those moms. I freak out about everything but considering I’ve been freaking out about everything these past 4 years, I’ve also slowly driven myself mad. So, I’m taking a new approach. Self exploration. They’ve always been pretty independent kids, which is nice… to a point. I’ve always said the kitchen was off limits but since I’ve been finding myself spending a lot of my free time there baking and cooking up culinary awesomness, I figured a few extra hands couldn’t help.

So far they’ve helped with little things like mastering the art of mixing, sifting and cleaning the utensils after they’ve been dipped in chocolate. All good qualities to have in a assistance chef if you ask me. Tonight though, it’s a bit different. I gave her the option to pick:  (1) meat (2) vegetables and (1) dessert (i.e you get apple sauce or peaches) and to my delight she picked the easiest thing in the world to make. Smoked sausage and potatoes with sauteed baby carrots.

Mother approved.

I was thinking we were headed down pizza alley or fish finger way but thankfully she actually picked something everyone enjoys eating. I couldn’t be happier and I’m sure her sister, whom is my little carnivore, is excited about tonight’s dinner. Especially since she was napping while it was being made and just woke to hear the good news. Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever seen her get out of her bed faster. Not that I’m complaining.

I think after dinner I’m going to settle in and start doing my Halloween decorations. I’ve yet to get the girls a costume but I think I know who wants to be what. My oldest wants to be Minnie or a Disney Princess and my youngest wants to be Thomas the Train. She’s on this train kick, I wish I could find a train around here and let her ride on one. Maybe I’ll take her to the one at the zoo, then we can ride around the park on the train and she can spaz happily like her mother would.

Leave a Reply

