Clean…Clean…Clean

As you all know the holidays are a time for family, friends and amazing pow-wows which involve catching up with everyone’s life adventures and thinking of ways to create new memories. Well, for me the holidays mean cleaning. Lots and lots of cleaning. Removing unwanted or unneeded items and donating or selling them to make room for everything else that shall now clutter my household. 

My mother is visiting from South Florida this weekend and I am more than thrilled to have her here just in time for Christmas. Since she has moved it’s been a bit hectic for me, I no longer have anyone to actually watch my children while I clean so a lot of things changed instantly once she moved. Primarily the use of cleaning products. I no longer spend the crazy amount of money to purchase cleaning products for my house..I simply make them myself.

Doing a little research I found great recipes to make your own cleaning supplies with items you normally have around your everyday house.

White Vinegar: it’s great for cutting grease and removing mildew. 

Isopropyl Alcohol: A great disinfectant. (I would suggest diluting the alcohol with water for safe measure)

Lavender and/or Fragrance Oils. I love the smell of lavender and use it primarily in all of my fragrance products. It’s also really delicious in food. (The plant not the oil) 

Lemon: Nature’s own acidic bacteria cleanser (and it smells great!)

Baking Soda:  Deodorizes, scours and cleans. (great for stubborn stoves/pans)

Image

To make an “All-Purpose” Cleaner:

Mix 1/2 cup vinegar and 1/4 cup baking soda into 1/2 gallon of water.

I use this cleaner mainly in my bathroom to clean the chrome fixtures, remove water stains and clean the mirrors.

Air Freshener:

There are so many tricks for this. One of my favourite is combining lavender and lavender oil into a small pan and bring to a low broil on the stove. It fills the house with this amazing smell and you can use whatever type of oil or flower you’d like to freshen your home.

If that’s a bit much and you want something simple. Combine baking soda or vinegar with lemon juice in small dishes around the house and let it absorb the odors or grind a lemon in the garbage disposal and let the house fill with that lemony fresh scent. 

Carpet Stains:

If you have children like I do then you know all about carpet stains. I remember trying everything to get those stubborn juice stains out and finally, I did and I made it myself. No more Stanley Steamer for me! To do make your own carpet cleaner do the following:

Mix equal parts of white vinegar and water in a spray bottle, spray directly onto the stain and let sit for about 5-10 minutes. Then clean with a warm, soapy sponge or carpet brush. For a more “heavy duty” cleaner, mix 1/4 cup of salt, borax and vinegar. Rub the paste into the carpet for a few hours and then vacuum. 

 

I hope you all enjoy these. I know I do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

